The Missing Link to Growing in God: Knowing His Eternal Will

Posted on July 14, 2011

9


I’m starting to realize something about spiritual growth.

I Can’t Skip Steps.

In college, I had prerequisites for every class. If I took a class without taking the prerequisites, I’d fail.

The same is true for my spiritual growth in God. For example, I was never be able to deal with my sins or deal with the world before I consecrated myself to God. I tried very hard, but I was just not equipped to do so. I had to consecrate myself first. Then I was equipped for dealing with my sins and the world.

Why do I say that? Well, I started writing this post with the intention to share something about the cross of Christ. It has helped me very much with my walk with God. But I realized that there is a prerequisite. What I wanted to write may not have done us any good if we don’t first have…

The Prerequisite to Experiencing the Cross: Knowing God’s Eternal Will

“Be ye not foolish, but understand what the will of the Lord is.” (Ephesians 5:17, KJV)

“That ye may be filled with the knowledge of His will in all spiritual wisdom and understanding.” (Colossians 1:9, KJV)

The prerequisite to experiencing the cross of Christ is to know the eternal will of God.

I’ve walked through a Christian book store or two before. I’ve seen the stacks of books about “How to Know God’s Will For My Life,” “Knowing God’s Will for Me,” etc.

But I believe many of those books do not define the term “God’s will” correctly.

The Will of God

The problem comes when we add “for me” at the end. Knowing the will of God in the context of Ephesians and Colossians is not about knowing God’s will about trivial things like who you should marry or where you should go to college. To us, those are big things. In the universe, in eternity, those are small potatoes.

The will of God is His will from eternity past. It is His unchanging good pleasure referred to in Ephesians 1:5. It is what pleases Him (Amplified). It is His heart’s desire (Wuest).

To put it another way, the will of God is His will for Himself. It is what satisfies Him.

Ephesians is a very deep book, and it talks about God’s will a lot. It refers to God’s will as “the economy of the fullness of the times” (1:10, Recovery Version). An economy is a plan for the distribution of wealth. We all know that God has a purpose and a plan. He plans to distribute His wealth to all the members of His household. The Bible calls that plan, God’s economy (1 Tim 1:4).

For more about this, go to www.bfa.org, and get your free copy of The Economy of God, by Witness Lee. This is one of my top 5 spiritual books.

It is really difficult for me to concisely describe God’s eternal will. It’s like a diamond. There are so many facets. Any description I give you would be incomplete.

So this is what I’ve decided to do: In the next few weeks or so, I’m going to begin working on an additional page for this blog that will be focused on God’s eternal will.

BUT, I need your help!

Please comment. In your own words, how would you describe God’s eternal will, what He wants, and in what way He gets it? Including a few verses always helps. I will try to incorporate your answers into my page and give credit where credit is due.

..and if you’ve never commented on a blog before, what better way to start?

Related Posts:

