Christians on Campus: How I Chose To Be a Christian in College

Posted on June 16, 2011

19


It’s time for a little bit of a personal testimony.

The academic year closes again. For some, the next year brings the daunting change from high school to college.

Recently, I began to reflect on my own experience of that change. It was formative. It had an immense impact on the course of my life.

Prelude

I went to a small high school, so when it came time to go to college, I craved the experience of attending a big state school. I also knew that I needed God. Through high school, I learned to love God to some extent. I knew He had to be in the equation, wherever I ended up.

Struggle and Choice

In a story all its own, I wound up at UC Davis in Northern California. I got the big school I was looking for, and then some. With diversity of acquaintance came diversity of vise. Distractions from the Christ that I loved were not rare in dorm life.

At this point, I reached a choice. I had experienced God in my high school years, but it was the God of my parents. I honestly did not know what else was out there. Here was my opportunity to “compare and contrast” my experience of God with et al. It was an enticing offer.

And yet, here was another opportunity: to take the God of my parents and to make Him mine. The possibility here was also very enticing. In my short Christian life, God had at least taught me one lesson. He is a rewarder of those who diligently seek Him (Heb 11:6).

The possibility of new and deeper experiences of God was exciting. In this new environment, He would be a new God to me. My joy could be higher, my peace deeper, my faith richer. Like in Song of Songs 6:3, I would be my Beloved’s, and my Beloved would be mine.

By God’s mercy, I was drawn to choose Him. I decided that my college life would be lived “to the Lord” (Rom 14:8).

Difficulty

So the decision was made, but its not like it transferred me out of the dorms into a desert monastery. I was still in the dorms, still living with my classmates, still hearing and seeing all the things they did last Friday night.

There was no way to live to the Lord on my own. As strong as my decision was, I still needed to pursue God with those who call on His name out of a pure heart (2 Tim 2:22).

The Spirit Moves

A group of students had set up a table outside of the student union. They had a vinyl banner that indicated that they were Christians. At the Spirit’s prompting, I joined myself with them.

The more time we spent together, the more I realized that many of them had the same heart as me. We desired our beloved Lord Jesus. Each of us had made the choice to live to Him.

To say that everyone was 100% victoriously consecrated to Christ would be dishonest. To say that many of us were endeavoring to flee youthful lusts and pursue God with each other was fair. It was always an struggle. We were in college.

But, my experience with these dear Christians on my campus was very formative. Through pursuing Christ together, He was being formed in us (Gal 4:19). To this day, those experiences of Christ still remain. They bond each of us together. They are a supply to my faith and love for my beloved Lord Jesus constantly.

Related Posts:

