Jesus the Physician: A Short Post to Help You Love Jesus Even More

Posted on April 5, 2011

7


Last week I exchanged a few messages with a fellow Bibloblogger, Linda, about healing and God’s purpose. That fellowship encouraged me to post this.

Jesus the Physician

I love the Lord more today than I did yesterday. Why? So many reasons. Below is just one reason that He is so wonderful. I hope this short post will cause you to love Him, appreciate Him, and pursue Him just a little more today than you did yesterday.

In Matthew 9, Jesus was feasting in the house of Matthew with sinners and tax collectors (a.k.a. extortionists). When the Pharisees saw what Jesus was doing, they asked why Jesus was associating Himself with unrighteous people like this. Jesus responded, “Those who are strong have no need of a physician, but those who are ill.” He continued, “I desire mercy and not sacrifice, for I did not come to call the righteous, but sinners.” What a wonderful answer.

The Pharisees thought that God only deals with man according to righteousness. They thought that what unrighteous people need is a judge to judge them.

The Lord’s wonderful answer shows that their problem was not unrighteousness. Their problem was that they were ill. They were sinfulness was actually an illness. So what they needed was to be healed, not judged. The Lord came to them as a Physician to heal them.

He told the Pharisees, “I desire mercy and not sacrifice.” The Pharisees wanted to do something for God like offer a sacrifice. They didn’t realize that they were also ill and needed God’s mercy.

So today, do you desire to do something for God or do you desire mercy from Him? Do you realize that you are ill with sinfulness and that you need a Physician? If so, the Lord wants to heal you. He does not want to judge you for your sinfulness but heal you from it.

How does he do this? Jesus, our Physician, heals us by His Word.

But the centurion answered and said, Lord, I am not fit for You to enter under my roof; but only speak a word, and my servant will be healed.

Matthew 8:8

Related posts: 3 Ways to Use the Bible to Touch God, How to Not Judge Others

