A Bird’s Eye View from a Tortoise: Matthew 5-7

Posted on March 14, 2011

2


So, I’ve slowly been making my way through Matthew. Actually, to date, it has taken me since the inception of this blog to get to the end of chapter 7. At this pace, I should be done plowing through the New Testament in the third quarter of 2035. In my defense, though, this blog has survived the birth of my firstborn and a 5 month long mega-project at work. I’ve seen other blogs crumble from less competition.

If you haven’t noticed the trend thus far, I perpetuate paltry prolificity at an average of 2-4 posts per month. Readership is not really my primary goal for this weblog (although I do appreciate your patronage). I’m writing to define my own revelation and experience. Writing about what I read in the New Testament, as I go through Witness Lee’s Life Studies has been extremely clarifying and rewarding. That’s why I’m still here. Its time well spent, IMHO, and I would recommend the exercise.

This week, after finishing Matthew 5-7, a.k.a. the “Constitution of the Kingdom”:, I thought it would be good to tie together some of my previous posts together and present a bird’s eye view of these three historical chapters.

Chapter 5

The NATURE of the kingdom people (5:1-12)

Key verses: 3 Blessed are the poor in spirit, for theirs is the kingdom of the heavens. 9 Blessed are the peacemakers, for they shall be called the sons of God.

Post: Treasuring the Divine Life

The INFLUENCE of the kingdom people (5:13-16)

Key verses: 14-15 You are the light of the world. It is impossible for a city situated upon a mountain to be hidden. Nor do men light a lamp and place it under the bushel, but on the lampstand; and it shines to all who are in the house.

Post: I guess I missed this one.

The LAW of the kingdom of the heavens (5:17-48)

Key verses: 20 For I say to you that unless your righteousness surpasses that of the scribes and Pharisees, you shall by no means enter into the kingdom of the heavens. 48 You therefore shall be perfect as your heavenly Father is perfect.

Post: What Christ Did and Did Not Do for You

Chapter 6

The WAY to do righteous deeds (6:1-18)

Key verses: 1 But take care not to do your righteousness before men in order to be gazed at by them; otherwise, you have no reward with your Father who is in the heavens. 9 You then pray in this way: Our Father who is in the heavens, Your name be sanctified;

Post: Essential Key to Overcoming Temptation

Living without ANXIETY (6:19-34)

Key verse: 25 Because of this, I say to you, Do not be anxious for your life, what you should eat or what you should drink; nor for your body, what you should put on. Is not the life more than food, and the body than clothing?

Post: 2 Hidden Things That Will Ruin Your Spiritual Life

Chapter 7

How to deal with OTHERS (7:1-12)

Key verses: 1 Do not judge, that you be not judged. 12 Therefore all that you wish men would do to you, so also you do to them; for this is the law and the prophets.

Post: How to Not Judge Others

Doing the WILL of the Father (7:13-29)

Key verses: 13-14 Enter in through the narrow gate, for wide is the gate and broad is the way that leads to destruction, and many are those who enter through it. Because narrow is the gate and constricted is the way that leads to life, and few are those who find it. 21 Not every one who says to Me, Lord, Lord, will enter into the kingdom of the heavens, but he who does the will of My Father who is in the heavens.

Post: The Funnel and the Danger of Good

